top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland - Covid Dance Nights (18th July 2020)

We humans are resourceful . We invent ways to keep us busy doing the worst of times. And COVID has taken the whole world to stand still. It will have a long lasting impression on mankind, and we will be able to tell our children and their children that we survived COVID. How, you might say? Social distancing and face masks. And we created something that was already existing, but not as big as before: home parties. Not house parties, but home parties, using the whole wide web as our source of entertainment. The internet has become our stable source of entertainment. And we certainly need that during this shitty time of year. Or just shitty 2020. Let's fucking get rid of it, eh?

Today I was in a mellow zone, and what is good music to listen to when you are mellow in spirit? Trance music, correct.Lately I've been on a buzz, enjoying music more than before. And COVID has put a bit of a downer on everything. Should we go partying again? Is it safe? Standing in a field with thousands of ravers, is that really a good thing? For me, personally, I like to stay at home now, be entertained by the streamers. And no, not the gaming streamers, but the music streamers. I keep hearing new music every single day, and today I've come across a mix by Akira Kayosa and Hugh Tolland.

I needed a nice and long mix to keep me going through the working hours. And this was the perfect mix for me. It's jam packed with excellent Trance anthems, and it's nearly 2 hours long. What else do you need? Don't know the Covid Dance Nights crew or the concept, but I'm guessing it's similar to all those streaming services out there.

So what do you get in nearly 2 hours of Trance music? Well, Trance records (duh), and a lot of them. 21 amazing and amazeballs records, by a diverse group of producers, including a few made by Akira and Hugh themselves. Be prepared to be amazed!

  1. Draft 2 Design - Affection Over Reason (Basic Draft)

  2. Luminary - Amasterdam (Smith & Pledger Remix)

  3. Scarab - Vagabond (Original Mix)

  4. Kayosa & Tolland feat Matt Noland - Sound Control (Original Mix)

  5. Bodyshock - Fullmoon (Original Mix)

  6. Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland - Galactive (Original Mix)

  7. Kayosa & Tolland feat Matt Noland - Sweet Nothing (Original Mix)

  8. Astaeus - Stranded (Original Mix)

  9. Oliver Lieb - Subraumstimulation (Michael Dow Remix)

  10. Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland - Re-Entry (Original Mix)

  11. Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland - Ode To Mungis (Original Mix)

  12. Embrace - Embrace (Ferry Fix)

  13. Matt Darey - Nocturnal Delight (Kayosa & Tolland Remix)

  14. ID - ID

  15. Scott Mac presents De Progression & AJ Gibson - Twilight (Morph Remix)

  16. Stoneface & Terminal - Berlin 2000

  17. Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland - Disconnected (Original Respray)

  18. Yahel - Devotion (Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland Refurb)

  19. Second Sun - Empire (PVD Tpod Mix)

  20. VDM - No Hesitation (Original Mix)

  21. Lost Tribe - Angel (Four Four Mix)

It has been a brilliant two hours. I've really enjoyed myself, and hearing those tunes coming through my speakers. The music was good, and it was well mixed together. If you are a Trance lover, you will certainly love this mix. Trust TCD (=me).

I love the diversity in this mix. Some of these tracks do linger towards the early years of Trance music, and some just sound brand spanking new, and fresh. Some even have the housey vibe surrounding it. I'm really digging this kind of music. It's refreshing. But in general Trance is anyway.

This is my first Akira and Hugh mix, and even though I've heard of their music before, I am highly impressed with this mix. Really enjoyed it. And I've got only love for it. But which record is my favourite?

I couldn't choose. I had two in my mind. Two. Oliver Lieb's 'Subraumstimulation', remixed by Michael Dow, and 'Ode To Mungis' by Akira and Hugh. Both extremely wicked anthems. But not the only two reasons why you should check out this mix: there are 21 reasons!

A wicked mix. True Trance. And downloadable too! So what are you waiting for?

DJ: Akira Kayosa & Hugh Tolland

Genre/Style: Trance

Mix Info: Covid Dance Nights (18th July 2020)

Length Mix: 01:52:36

Tracks: 21 (twenty-one)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): DOWNLOAD/LISTEN

File Size: 285.2 MB

File Type: mp3

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page