top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Mad Dog at HÖR - Jan 25 / 2023

A new day, a new set found on Soundcloud. And coincidentally, also on YouTube. A set done by DJ Mad Dog, for HÖR. I've seen a few sets before by other artists, and I'm intrigued by the concept. It looks like they are in a bathroom/toilet area? It looks obscure, and very underground-ish, doesn't it? And as I was scrolling through both YouTube and Soundcloud, I found this set nearly at the same time. And you all know, I cannot just let this slide by and not talk about it? It's a set by DJ Mad Dog, for crying out loud! Who wants to miss that, right?

I remember him doing a set during lockdown, which I had stored to watch and review at a later stage, but I completely forgot, and for that, I can only profusely apologise. At least I'm not letting this one slide by. I'm on it, and I have been for the last few hours. I pressed play, and was happily surprised on the records Mad Dog selected for his set. Also how calm he seems behind the decks, but still embodies Hardcore music.

During the Millennium years I fell in love with his records, but for a strange reason I've lost touch of what the man released over the last few years. I did listen to his lockdown mix, which blew me away. The man has gained the experience, and the knowledge too, and the quality of the songs have just increased by a million. And for this HÖR set, he included a lot of his stuff, and they are top notch.

Someone on YouTube kindly mentioned a tracklist, so if you are curious, here it is:

  1. Intro

  2. Mad Dog & Gabber Eleganza - You Belong

  3. Mad Dog - Overdose

  4. Mad Dog - Bass Is Kicking

  5. Mad Dog - Verzerrung

  6. Catscan - End Of Tomorrow (Mad Dog Edit)

  7. Mad Dog & Nightshift - Focul Arde

  8. Mad Dog & SWART - Egypt

  9. Mad Dog - The Energy

  10. Viper Diva - En Y

  11. Mad Dog - Time

  12. Nightshift - Welcome To The 90s

  13. RBX - Smashed Head

  14. The Raven - A New Hope (Mad Dog Edit)

  15. Mad Dog - Il Futuro (Edit)

  16. Mad Dog - ID

  17. KRTM - Baldboy

  18. Brecc - Cripple

  19. X-Form - Pleasure Voyage (Mad Dog Downtempo Edit)

  20. Luciid - Paro Hour

  21. Mad Dog & Marc Acardipane - Sick With It (Alternative Edit)

  22. ANSBRO - Toulouse

  23. Marc Acardipane - Atmos-Fear (DJ Mad Dog Remix)

  24. Ajo - Escuchame

  25. Mad Dog - Energy 1996

  26. Mad Dog - Straight To Hell/We Who Are Opressed

  27. D.O.A. - Unleash The Brutality

  28. Temper Tantrum - New York City

There are a fuck ton of excellent songs in here. And it's got a proper intro too, which I always find very much required. Don't just jump straight into the music, give us a nice intro. So Mad Dog has certainly ticked that box. But it's all about the music. And, is it any good?

Yes. Hell yes. It's been an amazing 54 minutes. So many great records in this set. And I do love his approach to producing new stuff. The tracks have got this specific sound, which embraces both the old and new sound. It's just a mix and mash of both worlds, and I freaking love it. Pure Gabber sound too. Oh mate, this mix puts a smile on my face!

I love it when the old meets the new, and it works well. Some of the artists I follow, do that exactly to the t. And Mad Dog has done the same. He still makes them sound fresh and new, but with this distinctive early sound. Really impressive stuff.

But here comes the twist: my favourite track. I heard it, and I knew it was my favourite, because it's one filthy fucking track. 'Unleash The Brutality'. An all time classic. But I had to also include a newer track, and 'Energy 1996' by Mad Dog is one of those tracks I referred to earlier. New, but old sounding.

Keep the early sound alive. Spread the Hardcore love! And listen to this set, if you dare!

Ps. I've added both the Soundcloud and YouTube player underneath this mix.

DJ: Mad Dog

Genre/Styles: Hardcore, Hardcore Techno, Hard Techno, Speedcore

Liveset Info: Mad Dog at HÖR - Jan 25 / 2023

Length Liveset: 00:54:00

Tracks: 27 (twenty-seven) + Intro

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): CLICK HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: unknown

Release Year: 2023

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page