top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

C-KAY Classic FW Mix 2016

What ever happened to Future World Records? I've just gone and Discogs them, and it was created back in the late 2000s, and they were really awesome! But after trying to go onto their website, it showed me a dodgy Chinese Ebay-like webpage? The label was created by Mark Breeze, and has some success with their music, and were on top of things, especially when Dubcore made its way to the mainstream UK Hardcore scene. I know it was a love/hate relationship: some really appreciated it, and some hated it.

But no matter what your opinion was, they did release wicked anthems. And now it looks like the label doesn't exist anymore? They had massive success, and I know it's a personal opinion, but I really liked what was released on the label. So much great music. Genuinely the music I wanted UK Hardcore to be. A bit of the old with a bit of the new. And now it's gone. Please, can someone revive this label?

C-Kay did this mix, celebrating him being linked to the label for 3 years. It's an underrated mix, if truth be told. I think I did review it before, but the website got revamped, and I lost all the old stuff.

So here it is. 3 years ago these tunes rocked the dancefloors all over the UK. Why does time fly by so darn quickly? Can someone build a time-slowing machine, and let us appreciate music longer?

01. Re-Con - Loki's Theme

02. Darren Styles & Re-Con - Sober

03. Mark Breeze - Rise Again

04. Modulate feat MC Reynolds - Still Breathing

05. Dougal & Gammer - Mix Your Sex

06. Petruccio feat MC Whizzkid - Sick

07. Styles & Breeze - Sonic 2010

08. Petruccio & Modulate feat Mark Slammer - High On You

09. Darren Styles - Xfer

10. Tyl3r & Reynolds - Dive In

11. Tyl3r feat MC Static - Fight

12. Mark Breeze - Trying To Reach You

13. Modulate - Re-Loop

14. Dougal & Gammer - Float Away

15. Jakka B - Jump UP

16. Gammer & Michael Scout - Bye Bye

This tracklist made me wonder: what ever happened to the majority of these artists? We all know what happened with Darren Styles and Gammer, but Petrucctio, Mark Breeze, Tyl3r, Re-Con, Modulate, Dougal? They've all gone a bit quiet, when back in the days they were on our timelines nearly every day! We need to revive these golden days!

I know I do like to reminisce to the past, but for me it's important. Not sure which direction UK Hardcore is heading towards, but shall I be patient and just see where it goes, or stick in the past and listen to the good tunes that made me a happy bunny? I'd rather stick in the past, present day music will be 'classic' anthems in the near future anyway. I might be late jumping the band wagon, but it's never too late to hallucinate, eh?

C-Kay's selection is awesome, and the mix is tight. No mistakes, and only big anthems. It starts with the catchiest tune of them all, and the flow continues throughout the mix. Can't believe these tunes are already 'old'.

The best tune has got to be 'Fight'. When I heard it a few years back for the first time, the lyrics really got to me, and the melody stayed in my head for quite a while. I really like this music, and I do miss this generic sound.

C-Kay's mix is really what we are after on this sunny Sunday morning/afternoon. BBQ anyone? Make sure you got your 'Beats by Dr Phil' speaker ready, and blast out these anthems.

DJ: C-Kay

Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Dubcore

Mix Info: C-Kay Classic FW Mix 2016

Length Mix: 00:58:54

Tracks: 16 (sixteen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): DOWNLOAD/LISTEN

File Size: 594 MB

File Type: .wav

Bitspeed: 1411kbps

More Information: C-Kay - Soundcloud Page

18 views0 comments


bottom of page