top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

DJ A.K. - UK Hardcore Classics Mix Vol 5 04.03.23

DJ A.K. is back. Well, that's an understatement. Has he ever left? Has he ever gone anywhere? It is a reoccurring thing, finding brand spanking new mixes online made by him. And today I was as quick as lightening: his mix was only up for 30 minutes, and already did I save it for later. Later is now, 28 minutes later. I have already shared it with my fellow UK Hardcore fanatics in the Netherlands, but now it's time for me to share this mix with you all.

It is mentioned underneath this mix that this is the 6th mix, but the number is 5? Well, if that's the only 'bad' thing about this mix, who gives a flying fuck? I certainly don't, I am only interested in the music, and the music is all music I grew up with. Well, grew up with: I was already in my 20s, but hey ho, it's part of my youth. UK Hardcore from the 2000nd. That's certainly my jam.

What I can say about this mix, is that it's all vinyl, and it's records that we all love. Some from the usual big labels, such as Next Generation Records, Evolution, Raver Baby etc. But there's also a few forgotten classics, you'll know them immediately, when you look at the tracklist below.

It is the era I discovered UK Hardcore in, and I immediately fell in love with it. I bought literally every freaking album available, and had them imported to the Netherlands, as the scene was non existent over there. But now I'm over here, in King Charles' land. In the land where awesome music was made, and the style that I fell in love with: UK Hardcore.

Let's focus on the tracks played by DJ A.K.:

  1. Kaos & Ethos - Drift On A Dream

  2. Euphoria feat MC Casper - Hardcore Overdose

  3. Interstate - Lost Generation (Nu Foundation Remix)

  4. Euphoria - Hold The Rush

  5. Sy & Unknown - Out Of Your Mind

  6. The Collective - Kick It (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  7. Eclipse - 24-7 (Breeze & Styles Remix)

  8. Plus System - Blue Anthem

  9. Ripped 2 Fcuk - Vol 9 Side A (We Come 1)

  10. Darren Styles - Getting Better

  11. DJ Ham - Remembering The Time

  12. UFO - Punk

  13. Contraption - Higher Forever

  14. Geos - Heaven

  15. DJ Seduction - Slammin' 'N Jammin'

  16. Scott Brown - Detonated (2005 Remix)

  17. Ripped 2 Fcuk - Vol 7 Side A (Passion)

  18. Interstate - Hardcore Hustler

  19. Scott Brown - Fly With You 2005

  20. Plus System - God's Child

This is certainly a throw back to the golden years of UK Hardcore. A fantastic mix filled with amazing UK Hardcore from around the Millennium years. Another impressive mix by DJ A.K., but truth be told, he's one of the few pushing the sound forward. His Soundcloud channel is a must visit page. If you love your UK Hardcore, go there, and you won't be disappointed.

I am really impressed that he's delivered yet another wicked mix, full with anthems I do miss a lot. I wish this kind of music remained alive and kicking, and the sound would just travel with us, and not stay in the past. This Millennium sounding UK Hardcore is just so freaking dope! Don't you all miss it too?

Can't say anything negative about this mix. It's yet another slammer by DJ A.K. A solid mix, with a shit ton of excellent tracks, and even a few forgotten gems.

Come on, can you beat 'Getting Better' by Darren Styles? You can't beat that classic anthem! Where has the DS sound gone to? Oh, I miss his input so much: his songs were just so damn good.

Yep, another wicked mix by DJ A.K. That's all I've got to say. Jump on it while it lasts. Well, hopefully it will last a lifetime: we need more of these mixes. A.K., keep them coming, forever and ever!

DJ: A.K.

Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Happy Hardcore

Mix Info: DJ A.K. - UK Hardcore Classics Mix Vol 5 04.03.23

Length Mix: 01:24:34

Tracks: 20 (twenty)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): STREAM HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: unknown

Release Year: 2023

32 views0 comments


bottom of page