top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

DJ Casketkrusher - The Test Crash Records Megamix (100% Vinyl) (2018)

Well, I'll be damned. Never knew that this label was run by The Prophet back in the 90s. Never even knew it existed. I do know each and every record, but that's all. It turns out this was a label back in the 90s, run by DJ The Prophet, and only existed between 1995 and 1997. It is now a defunct label, which is a shame. And it makes me wonder why he stopped running this label? He had so many great anthems on this label, which you will see in a minute, in a beautifully shapen tracklist.

Just capture the late 90s. Me and my Sony Walkman, dancing in my bedroom. These tunes would be the ones I'd adore, and would listen to multiple times a day. I was a Happy Hardcore/Hardcore fanatic, and really liked The Prophet's kind of music. It was just what I needed. Obviously I'm not the only fan of his music, and as usual, DJ Casketkrusher made yet another brilliant dedication mix. This time it's filled with records released on this bonkers label. Within those 2 years so many great anthems were released, and it stopped all of a sudden.

Now I'm not into politics or gossips, but I am a tad curious: if anyone knows why this label stopped back in 1997, could you leave a comment down below? I simply cannot understand why this label stopped, when it has got banging tunes under its belt. Ah hell, let's focus on the music, that's more interesting, isn't it?

Here's the tracklist. Be prepared for a lot of smiles for miles.

01. Commotion - Tutti Frutti

02. The Prophet & DJ Delirium - Keep Your Body Pumpin'

03. Commotion - The Party = Mine

04. The Prophet - Housetime!

05. Creasemaster & Slamdog - Face Down

06. Creasemaster & Slamdog - Don't Stop

07. The Prophet - I Like It Loud (DJ Mix)

08. Creasemaster & Slamdog - Big Ol' Booty

09. The Controllers - I Wanna Rock You

10. Jee Beat Squad - Diss You

11. The Controllers - Testcrashin' (12" Mix)

12. Too Small - Cold Bustin

13. The Prophet & DJ Delirium - We Love To Party

14. The Prophet - Lunatic

15. Jee Beat Squad - Get New

16. The Prophet - Damn!

17. Too Small - U Gotta Give It Babe (Jawshabby Mix)

18. The Prophet - I Like It Loud (Original Mix)

1997! I'm back in 1997. Wow, I just had a flashback to the late 90s! This were the best years for Hardcore music, without a shadow of a doubt! Of course a few years later it nearly vanished due to knobheads destroying it (thanks Gabber Piet, Hakkuhbar, Reef Teef, etc), but just before this climatic ending, the music became so powerful, it has stood the test of time. That it sounds absolutely nothing like the present day Hardcore, that's understandable, but kind of sad too. Hardcore from the 90s should be preserved much better, and its memory should be kept alive, even in 2019.

This label had so much potential, and yet it disappeared. A shame, but at least its legacy lives on. Thanks to Casketkrusher for mixing these 18 wicked anthems together. This is truly a trip down memory lane. This label was so good: I didn't even know it existed, yet I know each and every track. And I love them all!

Thanks to Discogs I do find out who's behind certain names, such as Too Small, Jee Beat Squad, The Controllers, etc. And it's amazing that we have these kinds of tools, back in the 90s we had none. Well, we had booklets, but they were as confusing as hell!

It was hard to select one favourite record: there are 18 amazing records. But when I think of this song, I think of 'Thunderdome 12', the one with the spider on the front. 'Testcrashin' ' This whole CD was epic, and is still the best one of the whole Thunderdome saga. Nonetheless, let's focus on the record: this is dark and edgy, and yet it has a slight Happy Hardcore vibe around it. That's why I love this so much.

So many great anthems in here. Unbelievable mix. So happy to hear this. The train to my childhood has arrived, and I'm going aboard. Anyone else want to join me on this adventure?

DJ: Casketkrusher

Genre/Style: Early Hardcore, Gabber, Happy Hardcore

Mix Info: The Test Crash Records Megamix (100% Vinyl)

Length Mix: 01;02:25

Tracks: 18 (eighteen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): DOWNLOAD/LISTEN File Size: 142 MB

File Type: mp3 Bitspeed: 320kbps

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page