top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Hardcore Underground 8 - AoS Mix (2020)

Over the years HU have remained a steady force in providing the masses with UK Hardcore, and I've been to several locations, to see a few HU artists perform over the years. I've also purchased a lot of their stuff, mainly their HU compilation. I've devoured the CDs over the years, and the mixes were always excellent, well received, and well thought of. Not just some random DJ but well established names, like Brisk & Ham, Marc Smith & Al Storm. Fracus & Darwin, Slipmatt & Entity, Thumpa & Obie, Scott Brown & Chris Fear, Kurt & Stormtrooper. and a few more collaborations. But for the first time in its history, with the 8th instalment, they went the other way: no DJ collaborations, but three DJs on three discs. Disc one was mixed by Daniel Seven, second disc by Saiyan, and the third one by AoS. And it's the last disc which I'm focussing my review on today.

I have to be honest here today, I've not bought any albums since 2018 I think. And I've not fully embraced the digital platforms yet. I've made some purchases here and there, but yeah, what I'm about to say might shock you, but I've not bought this 8th instalment of the HU series! Can you Adam and Eve it? Yes, I feel embarrassed as much as the next person, and I do thank AoS for making me aware that he's made this awesome mix, and it's featured on a massive CD compilation. Please forgive me, fellow HU fanatics. Well, it turns out I'm not that much of a fanatic, eh?

AoS did release an EP many moons ago, which I reviewed, but he kindly mentioned to me that he's got a mix I should certainly check out. And here I am: listening to AoS' mix, Initially he mentioned his livestream mix, but he thought it would be worth to check out this HU8 mix instead. Good choice sir: I'm sitting here with a huge smile on my face, enjoying the mix a LOT.

You might have seen his name here and there, and he's an up and coming DJ/producer in the UK Hardcore scene, and on this mixed CD you can find a few of his own records. So if you were not aware of who he is and what he's capable of, you will know him now and will admire his music.

So, if you are like me, and sadly didn't purchase the CD when it was fresh as a daisy, here's the tracklist:

  1. AoS & Fracus - I Wanna Be With You (AoS HU8 Intro Mix)

  2. Chris Fear & AoS - Refused To Be Denied

  3. AoS & Angerzone - Bad Sensation

  4. Fracus & Darwin feat Jake - Make It Tonight

  5. Darwin & AoS - What R U Waiting 4

  6. Fracus & Darwin vs S3RL - Moonlit Eyes

  7. Jack In Box - Perfect Love

  8. AoS & Newton Mea - Alive In The Night

  9. Jack In Box - Original Posse

  10. Mr. Ripley - Find Your Way

  11. Jack In Box & Fracus - Like This

  12. Claxton - Nu Dawn

  13. Maxi Malone - I Wanna Know You

  14. AoS & Claxton - Epiphany

  15. AoS - Find Me

  16. Contraption - Dreaming Of Another Way (Audio X Remix)

It's been a while since I last heard a song by AoS, but compared to the EP I've reviewed many years ago, he has certainly progressed, and moved forward. A well established producer, and on this CD you can see he's been collaborating with a few big hitters like Claxton, Darwin, Chris Fear, and Fracus.

I liked his mix a lot. A mixture of everything. Breakbeat? Yes. UK Hardcore? Yes. Drum & Bass? Check. But looking at the tracklist from the other DJs it shows diversity, which I highly recommend. It is nice if the mix is 'steady and safe', but sometimes diversity can uplift a whole set. It just makes it stand out a tad more, and AoS' mix is certainly something special.

I really enjoyed it a lot, and it's given me enough confidence to visit HU's store and buy stuff. Well, maybe not today, as we are dealing with our mortgage etc, so any penny is saved in the pocket, but I've made a note, and will purchase this CD digitally and other HU albums I've missed.

The mix is tight, and so are the songs. A nice and fresh CD with a lot of tracks that have this distinctive sound from the early 10s. A throwback mix CD with new records. How's that, eh?

Best record? Pff, there are two. 'I Wanna Be With You' and 'I Wanna Know You'. Big songs.


Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Breakbeat Hardcore, Drum & Bass

Mix Info: Hardcore Underground 8 - AoS Mix

Length Mix: 01:02:17

Tracks: 16 (sixteen)

Download/Listen (via HU Store): CLICK HERE

File Size: 151.9 MB

File Type: mp3

Release Year: 2020

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: 44,1 kHz


bottom of page