top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Promo & Ruffneck @ Promo: Sound System Command 21/03/09 HMH Amsterdam

Back in 2009, at the Heineken Music Hall, a party was organised by Q-Dance, dedicated to the legend of the scene: DJ Promo. With a fucking epic line-up , you had to be a complete tool to miss it: Alex B, Promo himself, Endymion, D-Passion, Tha Playah, Ruffneck, The Wishmaster, The Outside Agency, Husz, Void Settler, Ophidian, Rude Awakening, Matt Green, Deathmachine, and Unexist. It's a good line-up, if you are a fan of Promo you wouldn't be disappointed. Between 4 and 5 in the morning Promo joined the decks with his friend Ruffneck, to play an hour of all-time classics. And that set has recently emerged onto Soundcloud. Interesting, yes.

I've seen the set before and liked it, but cannot find it among those thousands of 'liked' sets. Fuck me, I need to be more organised. I'm so extremely unorganised: cannot find anything. So this small time user on Soundcloud uploaded it, thanks for that. But I had to go to the channel who has thousands of sets, magpie303. And it does come with a tracklist, so that's a bonus. And, before I forget to mention, you get an added bonus of DJ Ruffneck being pissed off at the end. You will hear why, especially when you are a native Dutch speaker.

The tracklist is a thing of beauty, check this shit out:

01. Juggernaut - Ruff Message Part II

02. Predator - The Strongest Gang (The Hood)

03. Wedlock - Ruffneck (Sound Of The Drum & Bass)

04. Reyes - Rock With Me

05. Vanugenth The 5th - Here We Go Again

06. Hard Creation - I Will Have That Power

07. X-Factor - The Underground

08. Knightvision - Who Is It?

09. Promo - Ya Gangsta Music

10. Taciturne - Der Toten

11. Nosferatu - The Future

12. Myztic vs Myrmidon - Pop Goes Da Pistol

13. Diss Reaction - Jiieehaaaaaa

14. Bio-Forge - Turbulence

15. Wedlock - Acid Rain

16. DJ Isaac - Bass And Sound

17. Ectomorph - Heartbeat

18. DJ Rob & Tim B feat Da TMC - Bleeding Ears

19. DJ Promo - Beat Ya Brain

20. Wedlock - The Genesis

21. Predator - Mind Of A Lunatic

22. DJ Neophyte meets DJ Attic & Stylzz - Music Gets You Drunk

23. DJ Promo - Cold As Stone

24. Knightvision vs Wedlock - The Holy Kingdom

25. Undercover Anarchist - Ass Off (Remix)

26. Wedlock - Evolution Theory

27. Knightvision - Knight Of Visions

28. Chosen Few - Name Of The DJ

29. Brian Acardy - Let Da Bass Boom

30. Promo - Battling Ignorance

A wicked mix. This will definately wake you the fuck up on this boring Sunday morning. You still asleep? Not for long. Just click 'play' and start enjoying the music. And even though the focal point is not Promo, you do get some Promo records. But the majority of records are from Ruffneck impressive back catalogue (himself and his labels). So, what are you currently waiting for? Press play, you knobhead.

I just love the tunes a lot. So many underground anthems, still appreciated and loved by thousands of true die-hard motherfuckers. And I'm one of them. Just sit back and enjoy the anthems selected by both Ruffneck and Promo. Can't believe this event already took place 10 years ago. Maybe a new event is in the pipeline, Promo?

At the end Ruffneck has a few words to say. How he appreciates the fact that he was playing with the legend himself, and he asks the audience to make some noise. At this stage they were probably all tired and knackered, so they didn't give their all. Ruffneck stopped the music, explained himself (God cholera lol) and gets the audience to scream their lungs out of their body. He's annoyed, but all in good fashion. He just wants everyone to acknowledge the legend that is Promo (and of course himself too).

The tunes selected are all amazing, but as Ruffneck says, the last track is the one that does it for me. What a big anthem. Don't hear that one often. Can't even remember another set in which this was played at all!

Two legends behind the decks. What more could you ask for?

DJ: Ruffneck & Promo

Genre/Style: Hardcore, Early Hardcore, Rave

Liveset Info: Recorded @ Promo: Sound System Command 21/03/09

Length Liveset: 01:03:57

Tracks: 30 (thirty)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): LISTEN HERE

File Size: unknown File Type: unknown Bitspeed: unknown More Information: -------

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page