top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

SY & UNKNOWN showcase (170 BPM) (29.06.2024)

Only a few weeks ago did I discover an appreciation mix, dedicated to Quosh Records. This time, the appreciation mix you are about to listen to, is focussed on the people behind the label, Sy & Unknown. It isn't the first time the DJ in question (Audioholik) made an appreciation mix, but it's the most recent one, and it suits my needs. I need more UK Hardcore, and especially more Sy & Unknown. And who doesn't want to hear more of these UK Hardcore legends, right?

I was introduced to the scene by these two legends. Well, not directly, but the first few tracks I heard were made by them. And their music has followed me ever since. Even to this day do I appreciate their music a lot. They were legends, and had some amazing records. Their label Quosh, had some fantastic released. If you are interested in hearing what Quosh had to offer, check out this mix.

But for now, let's focus on Audioholik's latest mix. Which contains 20 records, made or remixed by Sy & Unknown. And it might be the records you've heard a million times, but no one really minds hearing these tracks over and over. It's a nice selection by Audioholik, and it will get us through the weekend, to yet another week.

The tracks... are they good Sy & Unknown records? Are they the big anthems we grew up with?

  1. Sy & Unknown feat Lou Lou - Hands Of Time

  2. Ravers Unite - Hardcore Vibes (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  3. Sy & Unknown - Make It Bounce

  4. Sy & Unknown feat Ben Williams - Don't Wanna Let You Down

  5. Flyin' & Sparkey feat MC Storm - All About (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  6. Sy & Unknown feat Hixxy - The Clit Commander

  7. Sy & Unknown feat Hixxy - Ere We Fuckin' Go

  8. Insight feat Emily Reed - Digital Lover (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  9. Sy & Unknown - The Steel Finger

  10. Plus System - Come On (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  11. Footprintz - Angels (Sy & Unknown's 2007 VIP Mix)

  12. Sy & Unknown - Hardcore

  13. DJ Seduction - Raise Your Hands (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  14. Darren Styles feat Junior - I Need You (Sy & Unknown Mix)

  15. Sy & Unknown - Out Of Your Mind

  16. Sy & Unknown - Psychopath 2011

  17. Breeze v Lost Witness feat Louanne Feeney - Rise Again (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  18. Sy & Unknown - The Night Ahead

  19. Sy & Unknown - Rockin' To The Music

  20. Captain Jack - Dream A Dream (Sy & Unknown Remix)

Oh, it's got some of the big hits in here. A nice selection by Audioholik, and certainly party anthems that will go down well across the UK. Unfortunately their hits have not reached the rest of the world, which they should have done. They deserve so much more credit for their music, but it never happened. That's certainly unfortunate.

But, here comes a bit of a controversial statement: not every track is a success. They were OK songs to me, but I would not loose my mind when these songs would be played. And there's a few in here which I find OK, but nothing more. Like 'Hardcore Vibes' and 'Dream A Dream'. They would get people dancing, but not me. I'm more of a euphoric UKHC lover, and 'Rise Again' is certainly one of those records. And 'Rockin' To The Music'. And let's not forget 'Angels'. Or 'Raise Your Hands'.

There's a good amount of excellent tunes in here to keep us going, and those will put a smile on our faces. Not all of them are great anthems, but they are still part of Sy & Unknown's massive back catalogue. They have meant so much to the scene, and they are sorely missed. But things are the way they are, and we can't turn back time.

A solid mix. Hopefully Audioholik will make more UKHC themed mixes, I thoroughly enjoy them!

DJ: Audioholik

Genre/Style: UKHC, UK Hardcore, Happy Hardcore

Mix Info: SY & UNKNOWN showcase (170 BPM) (29.06.2024)

Length Mix: 01:04:19

Tracks: 20 (twenty)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): CLICK HERE

File Size: 148 MB

File Type: mp3

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: 320kbps

Release Year: 2024


bottom of page