top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Thunderdome Flashback 2022

I have to come clean here. Previously I reviewed another fan made 'Thunderdome' CD, which could be found on YouTube, and I wasn't a fan of that one at all. Not one bit. And I might be prejudice to the whole 'fan' concept. I've heard some appalling mixes in the past, and it's been dreadful. So when I discovered yet another 'Thunderdome' CD on YouTube, this time it's called 'Flashback', I was sceptical. Is this yet another one of those mixes on YouTube no one asked for, and isn't unique in any way, shape or form? Well, time will tell... keep on reading I would say!

Am I too harsh? Maybe. But it's also known that the whole Thunderdome CD collection is already on YouTube and other platforms, so it's not really needed to upload new videos, if they are basically just the same, but slightly different. The same tracks. Nothing new. Only a different cover image, that's all. Not saying the music isn't great (it certainly is), but this is a non needed concept that people need to stop doing. Unless it's a dedication mix that's worth while.

Currently I'm halfway through this video, and the tracks are all known to me, but it's not done beautifully. Not sure why people think this is OK to upload? Again, the music is great, and nothing can compete against the 90s sound that was released on those glorious CDs, but why create this and upload it, if it's not even better than what was on those CDs? Copy pasting but in a bad way.

The transitions between each track is shocking. Now I know Arcade and ID&T weren't the greatest back in the 90s with their CDs, but even with 2022 technology we cannot seem to improve it? I think this would have been nicer if it was a mix, and not some fan 'made' CD. Please stop, and just upload awesome mixes dedicated to the wicked compilation series.

But which tracks are on this 'CD'? Well, these:

  1. Thunderdome Flashback 2022 - Intro

  2. Cixx vs The Vinyl Junk - Forever

  3. The Masochist - Killing Scum

  4. DJ Sim - Simbiosis

  5. The Masochist - Anticipation

  6. DJ Arjuna - Totally Lost It

  7. DJ Dione - Nuclear Device

  8. DJ E-Rick & Tactic - Da Baddest Mothafuck

  9. The Prophet - Big Boys Don't Cry (4 Minutes Mix)

  10. DJ Dione - 1 Beat 2 Heaven

  11. Omar Santana - Kick Some Shit (Lenny Dee & DJ Skinhead Remix)

  12. DJ Waxweazle & DJ Berry - Terrordome

  13. Bata - The Shoeshineman

  14. Renata Riccardi - Return Of A Looney

  15. Chosen Few - Name Of The DJ

  16. Flamman & Abraxas - Drugs (Juggernaut Mix)

  17. DJ Sim - Loud As Fuck (54321 Mix)

  18. Scarface - Turntable Junkie

  19. 3 Steps Ahead - Hakkuh

  20. DJ Buzz Fuzz - Destroyer

  21. Lancinhouse & The Stunned Guys - Atmosfera

  22. The Headbanger - No Law

  23. 3 Da Hardway - Pull The Trigger (Temper Tantrum Mix)

  24. Thunderdome VIII - Megamix (Busy Action Mix feat 3 Steps Ahead & Lady Jay)

  25. The Dentist - Pulp Fiction (Rotterdam Mix)

  26. Diss Reaction - Jiieehaaaa

  27. The Horrorist - Flesh Is The Fever

  28. Tellurian - Big Bad City (Dax J Mix)

  29. DJ Promo - What The Fuck

  30. Promo - Patterns In Chaos

  31. DJ Promo & Catscan - Midnight Impact

  32. Too Small - U Gotta Give It Babe

  33. Section-8 - Punanny (The Prophet Remix)

It's a nice looking tracklist, don't get me wrong. The tracks are really nice to hear. Some aren't much in the public domain, and it's good that you hear them again, but was it really needed to create this?

The transitions between records can be very poor every so often. Ranging from 'OK' to 'very bad'. And the tracks are not in some kind of order. And some are even played faster halfway through a track? There seems to be a lot wrong with this, and I like the concept, people celebrating Thunderdome as a whole, but please just keep on making mixes, and not these CDs. Too many of them just do not give me the feeling I've got when I'm actually listening to a Thunderdome CD.

Sadly this is a poor attempt. Make it into a nice mix, and use a good build up. And maybe make sure the transitions/cross fadings are done correctly.

This 'fan made' CD isn't my cup of tea. I shall browse the internet to find one decent one. But for now, the ones I've found, have disappointed me. It only makes me want to blow off the dust of my actual Thunderdome collection.

Artist: Various Artists

Genre/Style: Hardcore, Gabber, Early Hardcore, Happy Hardcore, Millennium Hardcore

Mix Info: Thunderdome Flashback 2022

Length Mix: 02:14:59

Tracks: 33 (thirty-three)

Download/Listen (via YouTube): CLICK HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Release Year: 2022

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: unknown

More Information: --------


bottom of page