top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Thunderdome - The Golden Series (2014)

Thunderdome. A legendary name in the Hardcore scene. The originator some might call it. But whatever your stance is on Thunderdome, they have been a huge influence to us all. We all grew up with Thunderdome CDs, merchandise, even a Red Bull kind of energy drink, and of course their legendary events. It was big in the 90s, then it disappeared for a while, and came back with a vengeance. And then it was announced it was the 'last' event. And then it came back. It's like Hardcore will never die, right?

Whatever the history is, it's been glorious. And back in 2014 they released 'The Golden Series' CD. To commemorate the years 1992 until 2012. 20 years of Hardcore, and in the year of 2022 (which we live in now), it's 30 years. Time literally has flown by, but what most of us do, is go back in time, music wise. We always look back at the music behind us, and we kind of all agree that the early and Millennium stuff was the best. Or am I being a bit rude, to presume? It's my view in the end, and I do agree that the early and Millennium sound still remains the best. And this CD captured those glorious years beautifully.

And who else would you ask to mix a CD together? You've got three discs, and disc one was mixed by Bass-D & Lady Dana, second one by Promo & Catscan, and the third one by the Neophyte Records All Stars. The crème de la crème, as the French would say. And it's been evenly distributed: 1992 to 1998, 1999 to 2005, and 2005 to 2012. And I know for sure that there are people now reading this review, already salivating over their phone/keyboard, and can't wait to see the tracklist (if they haven't purchased the CD already). You know deep down inside this tracklist is going to be fucking epic. All these artists have got a good reputation within the scene, and together they've got decades of experience and knowledge, and know how to mix. And most of all: they know which tunes people want to hear! And that's what this CD is about!

Ready for the list of all lists? Here it is:

CD 1 : 1992 - 1998 Bass-D & Lady Dana

  1. Rotterdam Terror Corps - We're Gonna Blow Your Mind

  2. The Masochist - No New Style

  3. Masoko Solo - Pessa Pessa (Buzzy Goes BZRK Remix)

  4. Tschabos - Gib Mir Die Bass (Noch Korrekter)

  5. Bass-D & King Matthew - In The Mix

  6. Bertocucci Feranzano - XTC Love

  7. Reyes - Rock With Me

  8. Bodylotion - Make You Dance

  9. E-Rick & Tactic - We Won't Stop Rocking

  10. Inferno Bros - Slaves To The Rave

  11. Omar Santana - Wizard Of Oh

  12. Lockjaw - Ruff 'N Ruggin

  13. Isaac - Bad Dreams

  14. Buzz Fuzz - Frequencies

  15. Diss Reaction - Jiiieehaaaa

  16. Turbulence - 6 Million Ways To Die

  17. Miss Groovy - Jungle Sickness

  18. The Stunned Guys - Beats Time

  19. Bertocucci Feranzano - E-Motion

  20. Knightvision - The Search For Marihuana

  21. Darrien Kelly & Scott Brown - Geleihoofd

  22. Lenny Dee - The Dreamer

  23. Nasty Django - Hardcore Muthafucka

  24. Lady Dana & Skorp vs Bass-D & King Matthew - The Execution

CD 2 : 1999 - 2005 Promo & Catscan

  1. Promo & DJ X-Ess - Vicious Circle

  2. Armageddon Project - Spawn Of Misanthropy

  3. Base Alert - Ojeeoink

  4. Tha Playah - Mastah Of Shock

  5. Meagashira - Through Inner Core

  6. Angels Of Darkness - The Scorpion King

  7. Catscan - The Agency

  8. Tommyknocker - The Aftermath

  9. Korsakoff - My Empty Bottle

  10. Angerfist - Raise Your Fist

  11. Catscan - WO III

  12. Placid K - G Member

  13. Ophidian - Butterfly

  14. Promo & Digital Boy - Serious Damage

  15. D-Passion - Fuck The Free World

  16. Promo & Catscan - Toch Welleuk

  17. Nosferatu & Endymion - Drunk With A Gun

  18. Catscan - Finishing Profiles

  19. G-Shock - Demons (Promo Remix)

  20. Nosferatu & Ophidian - Psychiatric Ass

  21. Noize Suppressor - Fingherz

  22. Promo - Phreak Ya Speaka

  23. Project Omeaga - Prednison Attack

  24. Unexist - Attack

CD 3 : 2006 - 2012 Neophyte Records All Stars

  1. Tommyknocker vs Sunbeam - Twisted World (The Viper Mashup)

  2. Endymion - Abduction

  3. Mike NRG - Lost In Dreams (Weapon X Remix)

  4. Amnesys - Refly

  5. DJ Neophyte & Tha Playah - Still Nr. 1

  6. Tha Playah - Fuck The Titties (The Viper & Tommyknocker Remix)

  7. The Stunned Guys & Tommyknocker - Your Choice

  8. Ophidian & Ruffneck - So Many Sacrifices

  9. Noize Suppressor - Nobody Likes

  10. Tha Playah - Walking The Line

  11. Nitrogenetics - Pledge Of Resistance

  12. Dione - Beat Is Pumping

  13. DJ Mad Dog - Welcome Down

  14. Hard Creation - I Will Have That Power (The Stunned Guys Remix)

  15. Outblast feat Angerfist & MC Tha Watcher - Voice Of Mayhem

  16. Nosferatu - When Angels Cry

  17. Art Of Fighters - Nirvana Of Noise

  18. Angerfist - Incoming

  19. Neophyte Records All Stars - Adrenaline

  20. Evil Activities - Evil Inside

  21. Tha Playah - On The Edge

  22. Euromasters - Alles Naar De Klote (Neophyte & Evil Activities Remix)

  23. Neophyte & Drokz - Sloop Die Speakers!

This is like a trip back in time! The golden years of Hardcore. Fight me in the comments if you disagree, but to me these years were the finest. And these three CDs do prove that.

I do love each and every one of these CDs. Normally I would say I would prefer the early Rave, or early Millennium stuff, but after listening to this CD multiple times, I do have to amend my opinion, and give CD three my vote. Douse points to CD 3. Yes, I know I grew up with the early sound, but around 2006 to 2012 the sound became so sophisticated, exactly what I needed to hear. The early stuff is still highly appreciated by yours truly, but come on, the late Millennium years... the tunes released were so damn good!

Let's talk about each disc. Disc one, mixed by Bass-D & Lady Dana, contains the finest early tunes. Have we heard these songs before? Yes, a gazillion times, but they still hold their value up to this day. These two legends know exactly what to play, and the outcome is a wicked imx.

CD 2 is mixed by Promo and Catscan, and these legends also have a good ear for good quality tunes. What else is there to say? Well, maybe that the sound already became slightly rougher and harder, compared to the first disc.

CD 3 is just a CD full of mind blowing tunes. The best of the best. Mixed by the Neophyte Records All Stars.

Ok, here comes the tricky part: favourite tunes. I've divided them into three: one from each CD:

- Lady Dana & Skorp vs Bass-D & King Matthew - The Execution

- Angels Of Darkness - The Scorpion King

- The Stunned Guys & Tommyknocker - Your Choice

Is it one of the best Thunderdome CDs? Compared to the early work, yes. It's nicely mixed together, and not mashed up too much. Nicely balanced. Beat matched and everything. Not crammed in too many records just to fill the rear of the CD with track names. I will say 'yes'. But I haven't listened to the latest Thunderdome CDs: they might even be better than this one. But for now I would say 'yes' to the 'Golden Series'.

DJs: Bass-D & Lady Dana, Promo & Catscan, Neophyte Records All Stars

Genre/Style: Hardcore, Gabber, Happy Hardcore

CD Info; Thunderdome - The Golden Series

Length CDs: 03:32:28

CDs: 3 (three)

Tracks: 71 (seventy-one)

Release Year: 2014

Label: Be Yourself Music

Product Number: BYMCD081

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page