top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Bang On! [Mixed By M@rt!n - J] (2023)

2014! Now that's a blast to the past! 9 Years ago, can't believe the time has flown by this damn quickly. But I remember it like it was yesterday, and I remember being a happy chap, being a full on UK Hardcore fanatic, and trying to persuade my Dutch friends and colleagues to like the music, to no avail. But at least I tried. And to keep me entertained, I purchased many CDs from the UK to be sent to the Netherlands, and my collection was impressive, if I may say so, but what I do know, is that I never owned this album. This one slipped through the cracks.

It was a time during which I spent a lot of money on physical albums. I was still stuck in the past, and wanted to have CDs on display. Nothing digital, but physical. Nowadays that's obviously different, as I've got no CD player anywhere (not even in the car), so I had to chuck everything in the bin. But thankfully we've got Soundcloud, so happy for that!

With this 'Bang On!' album, two labels came together (Trackmaster Music & Hardcore Rapture) and it contained 2 unmixed discs and one mixed by DJ Kyle WytchWood. The mix you are about to listen to, isn't a like-for-like mix, as that isn't necessary, as Kyle did a mix already, but it's M@rt!n-J's take on the album. The album consist of more songs anyway, but he's selected only 14 of them, and compressed them into an hour long mix.

  1. Exceed feat Gem P - Flame In A Raver

  2. Cruze - Beatific (D-Core Remix)

  3. Kyle WytchWood - I Hear You Calling

  4. Cruze - Beat Drop

  5. Dan Edge - Away In The Sun

  6. 3Star - No Law

  7. Billy Jump & Kyle WytchWood feat Nia - Don't Stop

  8. Billy Jump - Go Bezerk

  9. Audio Warfare feat Kathy Sims - For Eternity

  10. Cruze - EpicK DreamZ (Dan Edge Remix)

  11. Darts - Ready 2 Bounce!

  12. Ganar & Jo Savage feat Deanne - Feel Alive

  13. Jekyll - Beginning 2014

  14. WytchWood & Cruze feat Gemma Macleod - Holding On (ABJ & Riche Remix)

So many names on this list, that I've not heard of in a while. What happened to these producers/DJs? Are they still doing their thing, and making music? Some names I do still appear every so often, but not as much as they did 10 years ago.

Boy, do I miss this sound! I do love the happy sound from the early 2000s until 2015. So many great anthems were made, and the happiness is what captured my attention, and got me hooked to it.

M@rt!-n-J has captured the album beautifully, and has made a very nice mix. I've not heard all the other songs on the album, but if this is a taster, it's a good taster, and it leaves a good taste. The tunes are all what I needed to hear, and especially when I heard 'No Law', that's when my head exploded! I do recognise the song, but from which other song?

A very solid mix with very good songs. From a decade long gone, eh?

DJ: M@rt!-nJ

Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Happy Hardcore

Mix Info: Bang On! [Mixed By M@rt!n - J]

Length Mix: 00:59:41

Tracks: 14 (fourteen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): CLICK HERE

File Size: 136 MB

File Type: mp3

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: 320kbps

Release Year: 2023


bottom of page