top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Brooksie - We 'R' Acid - November 2023

Back in 2022 I discovered a set by someone called Brooksie, and this Brooksie only recently uploaded a new set, which was re-recorded, as during the night it went a bit haywire. But even since my first introduction into the world of Brooksie, I haven't learned a single thing. Still not 100% sure who's behind the name. Well, there is a short introduction on Brooksie's Soundcloud channel, and if you are interested, please read it for me, and give me a shorter version of it. In the meantime, I will be listening to this set.

The previous set I reviewed was Brooksie playing at Boomtown back in 2022, and this set you are about to listen to, was recorded last November, in Bristol, at We 'R' Acid. I didn't knew there was a big love for Acid Techno in Bristol? There's probably a lot that I don't know of, so instead of making myself look like a fool, let's focus on the set and the records used during this one hour long set.

Well, I can be short and sweet about it: I don' recognise most names on the list, nor have I ever heard any of these songs before. Acid Techno is a style that I should listen to, whenever I get the opportunity, but it never seems to happen. The only artist on Soundcloud that promotes this kind of music (on my timeline), is Brooksie. I do like it, don't get me wrong, but I know fuck all about it.

Shall we dive straight into the tracklist, as you might recognise the names of the artists?

  1. Goncalo M & Pete Mek - Helicopter (Oldschool Mix)

  2. Zero Dayz - The Undecided

  3. Acid Ray - Bust This (Original Mix)

  4. Chris Liberator & Sterling Moss - We're On The Outside

  5. Vlado - Dirty Sound (Original Mix)

  6. Benji303 & Manarchy - Back The Beat (Original Mix)

  7. Sterling Moss & No Comment! - Overload

  8. Dynamic Intervention - Kickback

  9. Sterling Moss & Jack Wax - Supersonic Bass

  10. Secret Hero & Rats On Acid - Smokey's Revenge

  11. Michael Wenz - Not Driving Tonight (Main Mix)

  12. Latex Zebra & Chris Coles - Never Saw It Coming (Original Mix)

  13. Gatty - Pressure (6hear_Slug Remix)

The tracklist did nothing for me, but the music did. Again, I'm not an expert, but I do love this Acid Techno sound. The only name I recognised, was Chris Liberator. And that's it.

But it doesn't matter if I know or don't know the artists, it's all about the songs. And the songs are great. It starts off with an excellent song, and continues throughout the hour long set. Brooksie keeps us on our toes, dancing, moving our bodies. And the songs are really acidic. A throwback to the golden years.

The flow is as smooth as you want it to be, and when 'Smokey's Revenge' kicks in, that's when the magic happens. What a big track, love it. Guessing it is some kind of reference to a film or TV show? Whatever it refers to, its an awesome record.

The hour flew by, and I'm happy to have listened to this re-recorded set. It's a blinding set, well put together by Brooksie. If this was an exact copy of Brooksie's set, it would have been a wicked one to experience. Flawless set, worth your time. Trust me. If you like Acid and you like Techno, this is the mix to check out!

DJ: Brooksie

Genre/Style: Acid Techno, Techno, Hard Techno

Liveset Info: Recorded @ We 'R' Acid - November 2023

Length Liveset: 01:00:00

Tracks: 13 (thirteen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): STREAM HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: unknown

Release Year: 2024

12 views0 comments


bottom of page