top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

DJ Ad | Early Hardcore mixtape #45 | 20/10/23 | GER

Yesterday's review was of a mix filled with Millennium Hardcore anthems, and now we go back in time, to the 90. Early Hardcore/Rave anthems, mixed together by DJ Ad, for a Soundcloud channel called Demon Combined Records. Not heard of this channel before, but I've certainly heard of DJ Ad before. I've seen a lot of Ad's songs in many mixes, and he's part of a crew that keeps the old style alive, by making new music that resembles the music from the 90s. And if you are curious as to how that sounds, press play, and you'll find a few of DJ Ad's songs in it. But also a handful of really old classics...

DJ Ad, his name appears everywhere, and I'm loving it. The vibes that his mixes generate, can only be described as nostalgic. They take me back to my youth, and to most of us that a feeling we all appreciate. We've slowly turned older, and we appreciate music from the years gone by a tad more. For me, the 90s and 2000nd were still the best, even compared to present day music. But then my face is rubbed into the ground, by songs that weren't made in the 90s but in this decade! So very fresh, new, and exciting music that resonates the 90s sound through it. And you can find a lot of them in this mix, but it also includes a lot of the 90s songs, which were big, very big anthems.

A quick look at the tracklist does show exactly that! Most of these are known classics, but Ad went crate digging, he went in deep, and found some forgotten anthems too. But he thought 'why not spice it up with some new oldskool anthems'? And it worked well. The mix is 66 minutes long, and within those minutes, hit after hit is thrown at you. Well, some aren't hits, but they are still quirky enough to add to a mix, and to listen to.

The flow is very good, and it gives you enough energy to get you through today.

  1. DJ Promo - Feel The Thunder

  2. DJ Ad - Crack Up

  3. Re-Charge - When I Grow Up

  4. Tim B - Stick Up

  5. Charly Lownoise & Re-Charge - Like Old Days (Bass-D '96 Remix)

  6. Casketkrusher - Nasty Grooves

  7. Christencore 909 - Gabalurasa

  8. The Fuck Ups - Bad Guy

  9. DJ Ad - Love Izz Da Message (The X-Tern Remix)

  10. Urban Menace - Rip It Up

  11. Wicked Dimension - Every Time I Think Of You (DJ Weirdo & DJ Sim Flashback Mix)

  12. DJ Ron - Pump Up The Bass

  13. Psylocke - 2 Thy Soul

  14. Tokia - Big In Japan (DJ Roy Hardcore Mix)

  15. Flamman & Abraxas - Drugs (Juggernaut Remix)

  16. The Scrumbleheads - Gabbadrome

  17. DJ E-Rick & Tactic - Boomshakalak

  18. Rave Generation - Going Crazy (Forze DJ Team Mix)

  19. DJ Lay-On & DJ Raffle - The Beat Is Slammin'

  20. The Bloody Deamon & DJ Ad - Rave This Out!

  21. Pentium 75 - Guns In The Air

  22. DJ Don & DJ Ad - We Need A Fuckin' Rave (The X-Tern Gabba Re(t)mix)

  23. Carlos Masserati - Get On The Move

  24. Sailorcore - Back To Artcore

  25. The Bloody Deamon - Turn Up The Bass

  26. The Bloody Deamon & X4phantom - Zero G

  27. Discofrisco & DJ Inferno - Happy Verbs

  28. Pentium 75 - Back Once Again

  29. X4phantom & DJ Ad - Sky Of Sunset

  30. DJ Grizz - Kick Some Ass

  31. DJ Ad - Can't Handle This

What a mixed bag. Some old, some new. But the overall outcome is great. It's 66 minutes of pure early Hardcore songs, and it's nicely put together by DJ Ad, for this mix series.

Obviously I can comment about the songs that I already know, as most of the songs in this mix aren't known to me, as they are new, fresh, and different. But they blend in well with the really early stuff. It's nicely balanced, nicely mixed, and the entertainment level is high from the start. DJ Ad keeps us on our toes, and he certainly keeps us raving, like we used to do, in the old days.

There are some extremely big anthems, and the one that I love the most, is 'On The Move' by Carlos Masserati. Am I correct in stating this one appeared on Thunderdome 12?

It's a solid mix, with a lot of throwbacks to the good ol' days. Not a fan of the extremely cheesy 'Big In Japan'. But that's the only song I thought was misplaced.

66 minutes of pleasure. That's certainly something you want, on a dreary day like today!

DJ: Ad

Genre/Style: Early Hardcore, Early Rave, Happy Hardcore, Gabber

Mix Info: DJ Ad | Early Hardcore mixtape #45 | 20/10/23 | GER

Length Mix: 01:06:41

Tracks: 31 (thirty-one)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): STREAM HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: unknown

Release Year: 2023


bottom of page