top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

DJ Cotts - What UK/Happy Hardcore Used to Be 15 (Vinyl Mix) (2021)

It's Thursday today. And have I got a mix for you all, UK Hardcore fanatics! A mix so fresh, it's still warm and moist! But it all depends on a lot of things: the main thing being, do you actually love UK Hardcore or not? And do you even know what it is? If you do, DJ Cotts has got your back, with the fifteenth instalment of this mix series. A live mix series, which you can find on Youtube. And all mixed together beautifully, and all records are on vinyl.

You know what vinyl is, right? You've seen those big black discs? If you do, let's talk about the mix and what records DJ Cotts has picked for his set. According to his Youtube page, he's picked record from 2004 to 2006. And that's exactly the style I 'grew up' with. This was around the time I discovered UK Hardcore. So each and every track in this mix is right up my alley!

As much as I appreciate the present day Hardcore sound, I do prefer the Millennium UK Hardcore sound. Just have a look at the tracklist in a minute, and you'll know exactly what I mean. So many great anthems from the biggest superstars in the scene! And the selection is just pure pornography. DJ Cotts' selection is really what I needed to hear today.

I might have missed the other 14 editions, but it's never too late to jump the band wagon, right? So while we are now focussing on his latest mix, I'll jump on the other 14, and have the rest of the day off. But if you haven't seen or heard this mix before, here's the tracklist: this might persuade you to give this a go?

  1. Fergus Mayhem - Take Control (Sy & Unknown Remix)

  2. DJ Kurt - Kick Ya

  3. Breeze & Styles - The Beat Kicks

  4. Plus System - Let's All Get Down

  5. Brisk & Ham - Gettin' High

  6. Insight - Only Your Love (Scott Brown Remix)

  7. United In Dance feat Lisa Marie - Still The One

  8. Euphoria - Silver Dawn

  9. DJ Ham - In Da Club

  10. Scott Brown - Lost Generation (Nu Foundation Remix)

  11. Robbie Long & AMS - Rock Da Spot

  12. Joey Riot feat Ali - Into Tomorrow

  13. Eclipse - Things You Do (Gammer Remix)

  14. Geos - Everyday

  15. Kaos & Ethos - Lost

  16. DJ Kurt - Secret Raver

  17. Darren Styles - Skydivin'

  18. Styles & Breeze - You're My Angel

  19. CLSM feat Stefan B - Drifting Away (VIP Remix)

Will you look at this tracklist? It's gorgeous, right? If this doesn't get you excited, what does? I am really excited to see these records. Every so often you see mixes with these records in it, but sadly it happens sporadically. We need to have more of these mixes, we certainly do!

It is nice to see Cotts having a lot of fun behind the decks. This is actually the first time I watched a video of him behind the decks, but he looks extremely happy. And why wouldn't he be? Also, he's got some snazzy looking socks on.

All jokes aside, he's doing a marvellous job, mixing these songs, all on vinyl. I've got only positive feedback on this mix. The songs are all classics, and the mix is very good.

So the only thing for me to do is to say 'press play' and have a blast. Go back in time with Cotts' latest mix, and if you like this, check out the other mixes too. He's got plenty on his Youtube page, so that's got you covered for a few days!

Best record? Come on, that's an easy one: 'In Da Club' by DJ Ham. Banger!

DJ: Cotts

Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Happy Hardcore

Mix Info: DJ Cotts - What UK/Happy Hardcore Used to Be 15 (Vinyl Mix)

Length Mix: 00:58:56

Tracks: 19 (nineteen)

Download/Listen (via Youtube): CLICK HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Release Year: 2021

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: unknown

More Information: DJ Cotts - Youtube Channel

34 views0 comments


bottom of page