top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Journey Into Sound: Mega Mash Mix 90's Edition Vol. 1 (2020)

It's Sunday. And we all love and hate Sunday. It's because Monday is just around the corner, and we have to get back to work. wherever your work might be. It's the last day of the week that you are off, and a new week is emerging. 9 to 5 is looming, and we are not happy. But we need the cash, to spend on all the lovely things we want to have. So how can we make this day even better? By taking a time machine and jump back into time. The 90s, to be precise. The Golden years of Dance music. And also the decade of cheese-fest music.

Kit Hype, you might have seen or heard of him before, has made this megamix. And as you have guessed correctly, it's filled with 90s goodies. The 90s were innocent, compared to the present day music. It was all new, and exciting. And cheesy from time to time. And very basic. But those that grew up in the 90s knows the feeling the music gives you. For me personally it was the decade I developed a taster for everything music related, mainly the harder styles. Without the 90s I wouldn't be reviewing at all. The 90s also made me spend a lot of guilders on music compilations.

To be honest, I do listen to a lot of internet radio since lockdown, and the 90s radio stations have been very popular in our household. I don't know what the rest of the world listens to, but you should every so often dab into the 90s Dance music. It will certainly give you a good feeling, and the trip down memory lane can be very good.

So what has Kit Hype done to make this a good mix? Well, he crammed in as many 90s anthems he could find. And he's not stuck to one style or one genres. Just everything Dance music. And the mix contains 70 records. You will be in for a treat!

I normally ask if you want to see the tracklist, but I know for sure you want to see the list:

  • Intro

  • Felix - Don't You Want Me

  • Dr. Alban - It's My Life

  • Robin S - Show Me Love

  • Sunclub - Fiesta

  • Snap! - Rhythm Is A Dancer

  • Rozella - Everybody's Free

  • Culture Beat - Mr. Vain

  • 2 Unlimited - The Workaholic

  • Kristine W - Feel What You Want

  • ATB - 9PM (Till I Come)

  • MC Sar & The Real McCoy - Another Night

  • The Ultimate Seduction - The Ultimate Seduction

  • Run DMC - It's Like That (Jason Nevins Remix)

  • 2 Unlimited - Get Ready

  • T99 - Anastasia

  • Freestylers - Ruffneck

  • Urban Cookie Collective - The Key The Secret

  • The Ultimate Seduction - Housenation

  • Quadrophonia - Quadrophonia

  • 2 Unlimited - The Twilight Zone

  • Energy 52 - Cafe Del Mar

  • Cubic 22 - Night In Motion

  • Ice MC - It's A Rainy Day

  • Ice MC - Think About The Way

  • Southside Spinners - Luvstruck

  • 2 Brothers On The 4th Floor - Dreams

  • Livin' Joy - Dreamer

  • Real To Reel - I Like To Move It

  • Outhere Brothers - Boom Boom Boom

  • LA Style - James Brown Is Dead

  • 740 Boyz - Shimmy Shake

  • Capella - Move On Baby

  • Tag Team - Whoomp (There It Is)

  • 2 Unlimited - Tribal Dance

  • Corona - Rhythm Of The Night

  • Robert Miles - Children

  • Scoop - Drop It

  • Speedy J - Pullover

  • The Prodigy - Smack My Bitch Up

  • T.O.F. - Funk It Up

  • E-Type - Angels Crying

  • Ramirez - Bomba

  • System F - Out Of The Blue

  • Leila K - Open Sesame

  • Ramirez - El Galinero

  • 2 Unlimited - No Limit

  • Scatman John - Scatman's World

  • Charly Lownoise & Mental Theo - Live At London

  • The Prodigy - No Good (Start The Dance)

  • Captain Hollywood Project - Flying High

  • U96 - Heaven

  • Mark 'Oh - Randy (Never Stop That Feeling)

  • Interactive - Forever Young

  • Captain Hollywood Project - Find Another Way

  • Charly Lownoise & Mental Theo - Together In Wonderland

  • Marusha - Somewhere Over The Rainbow

  • Scooter - Move Your Ass!

  • T-Spoon - Smiling

  • Tokyo Ghetto Pussy - I Kiss Your Lips

  • Dune - Hardcore Vibes

  • Moby - Feeling So Real

  • Critical Mass - Burnin' Love

  • Dune - Million Miles From Home

  • Technohead - I Wanna Be A Hippy

  • DJ Paul Elstak - Rainbow In The Sky

  • DJ Paul Elstak - Don't Leave Me Alone

  • Charly Lownoise & Mental Theo - Stars

  • 2 Brothers On The 4th Floor - There's A Key

  • Party Animals - Have You Ever Been Mellow

Oh mate, if this doesn't get anyone excited, I don't know what does. Nostalgia galore! This is exactly the kind of music I listened to when I was a wee lad. A small Dutchman. I was 7 when the 90s started, and 17 when it ended. So basically most of my teen years were in the 90s.

The tracks are good. Some are bad. Come on, we have to acknowledge that some were just bad. I would still listen to them, but I wouldn't ask a DJ to play this for me. But it's nice to hear a mix containing a shit ton of records, and all in random order. That must have been a difficult task to mix together.

So many great memories appeared whilst listening to this mix. And shame as well. Shame due to the fact that a few aren't played that often. My favourites are 'Drop It' by Scoop, 'Feeling So Real' by Moby, and one you wouldn't expect from me: 'Randy' by Mark 'Oh.

The mix is good, but it sounds like a bit of a struggle to beat match each record. It's not completely flawless, but still highly enjoyable. I would still advice you to listen to this mix. It will enlighten your Sunday spirit, and will give you enough energy to raise your middle finger to the upcoming Monday, and say 'fuck it'. We have lived through the 90s, and we can certainly get through the upcoming week!

DJ: A Journey Into Sound (a.k.a. Kit Hype)

Genre/Style: Eurodance, Dance, Happy Hardcore, Pop

Mix Info: Mega Mash Mix 90's Edition Vol. 1

Length Mix: 01:19:15

Tracks: 70 (seventy)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): LISTEN HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: unknown

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page