top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Mark EG Presents 90's Techno Rave Volume II (2023)

A Mark EG set! How's that for something new and refreshing, eh? You don't see them very often on Soundcloud. The last one uploaded was a year ago, and it was the first in this mix series. He doesn't upload stuff that often, but when he does, you have to jump on it immediately, as it could be a very interesting and intoxicating mix. And today's mix is certainly one for those that appreciate the early 90s Techno sound. This could not be everyone's cup of tea, but I hope you are quite open minded, and let the music be absorbed by your ears, and hopefully your body starts to move, like a monkey on acid!

And for this mix, Mark EG has picked the finest tunes in his collection. I did listen to the previous mix, and was pleasantly surprised by the songs he had selected, but it didn't have a tracklist. His latest one does have one, hence why I'm talking about it. But looking at the listen-counter on Soundcloud, it is already well played in the last 5 days since it was uploaded, and there have been many positive comments on this mix. And truth be told, I have to consider myself one of those listeners who really appreciate this mix.

I grew up in the 80s, and when these tunes were released, I was still too young, and didn't fully understand the importance of these songs, but I still danced to them, in my little bedroom. It would drive my parents mad, to such an extend that my dad would come in and cut the wires of the speakers. He did warn me, but I played my music out loud. I could not enjoy this music on a lower volume: max is the only volume! From that moment on, I heavily invested in headphones, and have lived with them throughout the 90s, and early 00s.

I truly adored every song in Mark's mix, as they were everywhere in the 90s. And his mix starts off very strong, with undoubtfully one of the best Acid House anthems of all time. But it's not just that one record that will hit the spot.... there's 19 in total. Choose your favourite!

  1. Ecstasy Club - Jesus Loves The Acid

  2. Frank De Wulf - Reforced

  3. Cybersonik - Technarchy

  4. Frank De Wolf - Moral Sound Abuse

  5. Interaktive - Who Is Elvis

  6. DJPC - Insomniak

  7. Cold Sensation - Control The Universe

  8. Joey Beltram & Program 2 - The Omen

  9. F.U.S.E. - Substance Abuse

  10. X-101 - Sonic Destroyer

  11. Setup System - Fairy Dust

  12. Outlander - Vamp

  13. A Homeboy, Hippie And A Funky Dredd - Total Confusion

  14. DLM - I.S.N.I.X.

  15. T99 - Anasthesia

  16. Lords Of Acid - Let's Get High

  17. Holy Noise - Get Down Everybody

  18. Joey Beltram - My Sound

  19. Speedy J - De Orbit (Played at 45rpm)

There are so many epic anthems in here, I'm just chilling and enjoying the mix Mark has made. This generally takes me back to the 90s. These are timeless classics. Maybe sometimes slightly underrated, but they are oh so worth it. The tracks selected are all solid as a rock, and I understand why it's already had around 3.5k + plays in 5 days. It's genuinely an amazing mix, and people love the music.

There's a lot of well known tracks in here, ones that you hear every so often. But some are a bit obscure, and slightly forgotten. Thanks to mixes like this one, they are kept alive. We need to reminisce on a daily basis, we need to remind ourselves where it all started, and the 90s were hugely influential for the present day Dance music. The 80s were too, but the 90s is what made Dance music a world wide phenomena, by tracks like the ones you find in this mix.

It is unbelievable that a track can take you back in time, and you know exactly where you were at the time, when you first heard it. DJPC's track 'Insomniak' is that track for me. I remember where I was. Just a wee little lad, listening to it, and it blew my mind away. I knew it was something special, this track. And it has stood the test of time beautifully.

Mark EG has done a blinding job, and his mix is one that you really need to check out. It's also a free download, so why not jump on it, go back in time, and appreciate what these songs have achieved over the years. They are as relentless as they were, the day they were released, and have remained dancefloor anthems, and will remain anthems for many years to come.

I could have picked any of the 19 records as my favourite though. They are all big anthems.

Hopefully we don't need to wait another year for the third instalment! We need more mixes like this one and the previous instalment.

DJ: Mark EG

Genre/Style: Techno, Acid, Acid House, Acid Techno, House, Rave

Mix Info: Mark EG Presents 90's Techno Rave Volume II

Length Mix: 01:03:04

Tracks: 19 (nineteen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): CLICK HERE

File Size: 144 MB

File Type: mp3

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: 320kbps

Release Year: 2023

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page