top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Muffin's [Mixed By M@rt!n-J] (2023)

I started today with an early Hardstyle mix, and now we are going back in time too! Going back to when DJ Gammer was the hottest DJ in the UK Hardcore scene, and everything he touched, turned into gold. Literal gold. He dominated the UK Hardcore charts, his albums did well, and he was a well seen DJ behind the decks at events all over the UK. Now he has ventured into other genres and he's doing very well, but today I want to go back in time, when he made fine UK Hardcore anthems, and not as part of the legendary duo Dougal & Gammer, but on his own, with songs released on his own label, which was called Muffin Music.

Muffin Music was a UK Hardcore record label run by Gammer, to showcase his own solo stuff. Not as part of the mighty duo he was in for quite a long time, but on his own. And he's made some excellent tunes on his own. Started back in 2007, and finished in 2015 with the weirdest album title ever: 'Muffin Music: Literally Everything (Not Literally)'. Between 2007 and 2015, Muffin Music released a LOT of excellent tunes.

Well, for some records he did ask a few of his friends to join him. Friends like Klubfiller, Whizzkid, Re-Con, Obie, JB-C, and more. You can find a handful of songs from this fine label in this mix, which has been made by regular contributor to this site: DJ M@rt!n-J. It's an hour filled with Gammer music from the mid 2000s until mid 10s. And I wasn't aware I needed this mix so much: once I pressed play, I sat in complete silence here, just acknowledging the awesome music that came out of the scene! Boy, I miss that sound so freaking much!

The mix showcases what Gammer used to do. And he even dabbled in the Hardcore/Gabber scene with songs like 'Let's All Say Fuck' and 'Fuck The Rails'. I wish he only pursued that career path more: I did like the harder stuff he made too!

You are eager to see the tracklist, right?

  1. Gammer - Into The Future

  2. Gammer & Obie - Keep Em Dancing

  3. Gammer - Rippin'

  4. Gammer - Bassik

  5. Gammer - Saturn

  6. Gammer - Bust

  7. Gammer - Body Flow

  8. Gammer - Cube Negative (VIP)

  9. Gammer - Now It's My Turn!

  10. Gammer & MC Smiley - Unity

  11. Gammer - Moving To This

  12. Gammer - Ready 2 Go

  13. Gammer - One More

  14. Gammer - Chainsaw Bass (Bounce-Core Mix)

  15. Gammer - Kickin' Had

  16. Gammer - Let's All Say Fuck

  17. The A.M.D.A. - Fuck The Rails

He was, and still is, a very talented producer. To me, his UK Hardcore stuff always made me very happy, and I've purchased not only his weird titles album, but also the albums he released under the legendary duo Dougal & Gammer, and I've absorbed all those DJ mixes he has made over the years, for albums released as part of the Bonkers series. Fuck me, was he not the hottest DJ in town?

He became a literal genius behind the decks, and has given us so much wicked anthems over the years. The only time I've ever seen him play, was at Uproar, Summer Sounds. Those that had the opportunity to hear and see him play more than once, you are one lucky sod!

Obviously he ventured in the UK Hardcore scene for many years, had a dabble with some Hardcore/Gabber, and even made some freakishly good Freeform songs. That's all in the past now. Which is a shame, imho. I do miss this sound, and his input. He was a force to acknowledge.

But thanks to M@rt!n-J we can go back in time, and enjoy what Gammer made. And the 17 tracks he picked for this mix, they are fucking epic!

Best track? Maybe because I'm biased, because I'm Dutch, but I do love 'Let's All Say Fuck'. A bit of Gammer with a bit of Scott Brown sounding Hardcore. LOVE IT!

Cool as a cucumber this mix is. Yet another excellent mix by M@rt!n-J! More please! Keep 'em coming!

DJ: M@rt!n-J

Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Happy Hardcore, Gabber, Uplifting Hardcore

Mix Info: Muffin's [Mixed By M@rt!n-J]

Length Mix: 01:05:27

Tracks: 17 (seventeen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): CLICK HERE

File Size: 150 MB

File Type: mp3

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: 320kbps

Release Year: 2023

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page