top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Sied van Riel - In Riel Time (2009)

10 years ago an album was released on my birthday, that changed my life. Don't know how I found this, but I do know that it was the trailer video for it that persuaded me to get it. At the time I wasn't aware of who he was (Sied van Riel), but this promo video got my attention. In only a handful of seconds, Sied's video grabbed me, held me, and it embraced me. So the most logical step was to buy it. I went to my local CD store in Heerlen, and they ordered it, and it got delivered a few days later. My life changed after I listened to it for the first time.

To be fair, it was released on my birthday, but seeing as I'm always too damn late and kind of slow, I only got it in November of that year. How do I know? Because I immediately ripped it onto my hard drive, and the album was put on my computer without titles, only burn date and time name. But it completely changed me, and Sied gained another fan. I was expecting a very cool and good album, but what I got instead was an album so awesome and touching/moving, it became my most favourite CD of that year, or even a few years. It was my most favourite Trance CD for years, until Sied van Riel rieliesed his 'Rielism Four' album, which is still the best CD I've ever heard.

Sied was about to change my life with this cleverly titled album (and a wicked cover picture). The music rocked. And when TCD says it, he means it. Sied takes you on a musical journey through Progressive House, Trance, and Progressive Trance, and he doesn't let you go. You only realise when the CD is finished that you have soiled yourself, and that you had the best eargasm in years. And another added bonus: no short edited records, only the full works: the shortest record is 3:35 long! That's a really cool thing, the longer you hear records, the longer you can feel the power behind the record.

So you are probably curious what you can find on this album. I'm guessing that a physical copy cannot be retrieved anywhere and you have to get it from your digital stores (not a user of digital stores, I'd like to hold my music), but trust me when I say that you really need this album. And 'Rielism Four'. But enough chit chat, here's the tracklist.

CD 1

01. Alex Sayz feat Antonia Lucas - Fascination (Alaa Remix)

02. Paul Rigel - Orion

03. Oryon - Rocket Science

04. Dash Berlin with Cerf, Mitiska & Jaren - Man On The Run (Nic Chagall Remix)

05. Dakota - Chinook

06. Sander van Doorn presents Purple Haze - Bliksem

07. Mac & Mac - Solid Session (First State Remix)

08. Daniel Wanrooy & Rene Havelaar - B52

09. Ron van den Beuken - Timeless 2009 Remixes (Ron vd Beuken vs Maarten de Jong Edit)

10. Robert Gitelman - Rockless (Jan Oostdyk Remix)

11. Sied van Riel - Mongoosed

12. Jordan Suckley - The Storm!

13. Ummet Ozcan vs W&W - Synergy

14. Count Sinca - Space Cow (Exit Remix)

CD 2

01. Claes Rosen - Genuine

02. Masoud feat Jose - Leave It All Behind

03. Whelan & Di Scala - Cuba

04. Atlantic Drift - Love Will Find A New Day (Dean Fichna Dub)

05. Radion 6 - Ultra Disko

06. Simmons & Blanc - Something About You

07. Breakfast - Air Guitar

08. Sied van Riel - MME

09. Jan Oostdyk - Eivissa Eivissa

10. Dave 202 - Departure

11. RAM - Call It A Night

12. Mark Sixma & Willem van Hanegem - Terminal 69

13. Ferry Corsten feat Maria Nayler - We Belong (Tritonal Air Up There Remix)

This album is divine. Heavenly. Name it whatever you fancy, but to me it's the ultimate relax album. If I want to relax, I always put this album on, and release the inner demons. This album always calms me down, and makes everything just perfect. Sitting in the car for 2 hours, driving from work? This album does the trick. It makes the journey go by so quickly, I don't even remember ever getting in the blooming car!

The power behind this album can only be credited to the man himself: Sied van Riel. The way he composed this album and the way he selected each record, it just makes this album perfect. It does fit in beautifully, and there's not one moment during this mix compilation that someone should become bored or uninterested. Sied made damn sure that the music kept the listeners hooked.

Both CDs have got slammers on it. On disc one it was difficult for me to pick one out because there are several monster anthems. 'Rocket Science', 'Mongoosed', 'B52', 'Bliksem'... all great tracks, but 'The Storm!' by Jordan Suckley is just a masterpiece. On disc two it was slightly easier to pick my favourite, because this one track just grabbed my attention from the start, and 10 years later I still find it a highly rated anthem: 'Ultra Disko' by Radio 6. The build up during this record is just something from outer space! You get 5 minutes and 15 seconds of music that makes you feel so enlightened. Nothing can compare.

A wonderful album. I came across the trailer video on Youtube the other day, and I thought that a review should be required, to get the message across: Sied van Riel's album is a genuine masterpiece. If I'd had a 'top 100 album you need to listen to before you die', it would be on there. Sied, you are a boss. Your albums are just so darn good. Are you God? Never knew God looked like Ross from Friends. But on a serious note, Sied pleases the listeners so much with each compilation he has released, he only increases our craving for more. So let's hope Sied is rieliesing new albums soon: we need more and more.

Ps. underneath this you can find the promo video for the album. Worth checking out and getting the album. A masterpiece.

DJ: Sied van Riel

Genre/Style: Progressive House, Trance, Progressive Trance

CD Info: In Riel Time

CDs: 2 (two)

Length CDs: 02:27:52

Tracks: 27 (twenty-seven)

Label: Liquid Recordings

Product Number: LQCD003

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page