top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Somniac One | Artaphine Series 074 (2021)

The last couple of days it's been hot, very hot. A blooming heatwave they call it. I call it unbearable. My body isn't made for this heat. I'm sitting inside, literally 1 foot away from my airconditioning unit. I need the cold. But the heat kept on coming in, slowly. And I couldn't handle it. So typically British: if it gets hot, people complain. If it gets too cold, people complain. But what I can't complain about, is this new mix I had to share with you all. If you are into Techno, you will certainly be pleased with what I'm offering you today!

A mix by Somniac One. This Lithuanian DJ is a complete unknown to me, but after hearing this mix, she quickly gained a new fan. I simply discovered this mix by accident, and now I'm hooked to this darker sounding Techno. I knew it existed, of course, but her mix is just tight as hell. Most people out there are listening to some Summer anthems playing on the radio, while I am listening to some hard Techno. With a bit of Industrial Hardcore here and there.

The mix she made for Artaphine is an hour and 14 minutes long. Not known with this new mix series (I really need to spend more time online!), I am already intrigued, and this is only the first mix I've heard: I've got 73 other mixes to go through. But within those 74 minutes she will do her best to get you dancing, wherever you are. And it certainly works: I haven't sad still for more than a second. Very demanding mix, especially in this heat, but it's oh so worth it!

Tracklist for those who require it:

  1. Manni Dee - Take Time

  2. Plastikman - Spaz

  3. Stephen Disario - As One

  4. Ø [Phase] - Morphic-R

  5. Albert Salvatierra - Walking Through The Mysterious World

  6. E.L.I.A.S - Every Human Is An Enemy

  7. Schwefelgelb - Wie Viel Haur

  8. Stef Mendesidis - Interlynx

  9. Slam - Infiltration

  10. Öspiel - Daggers Are Thrown

  11. Arnaud Le Texier - Mystery

  12. Aahan - Ours Is The Storm

  13. EAS - The Universe Is Doomed

  14. Jokasti & Nek - Bumrush

  15. Zadig - Event Horizon (Perc Remix)

  16. VII Circle - Warriors

  17. Yant - Kaleidoscopic Vision

  18. Randomer - Sleep Of Reason

  19. PØLI & Lorenzo Raganzini - Metal Works

  20. [KRTM] - Neutral People

  21. DJ Misjah - Keep Your Love

  22. Manni Dee - Pivotal Summer

  23. Mickey Nox - Pale Nimbus

  24. Kander - Insight

  25. Blawan - My Guide To Dancing On Carpet

  26. Vainqueur - Lyot (Maurizio Mix)

  27. [KRTM] - I Have Muscles, Look At Me

  28. Amotik - Sau

  29. Adrom - Floating Heads

  30. Brain Ovulation - Only Kick (Rushin' Mix)

  31. [KRTM] - E (I Love The Polizei)

This is an amazing mix. One of the reasons why this is amazing, is because only 2 names out of the 30+ names in this mix are known to me. Plastikman and [KRTM]. And that's it! Literally, only these two names. And the second reason why this is an amazing mix, is because it's dark and edgy Techno. No light stuff for Somniac One, only rough and tough stuff.

It was 74 minutes of pure pleasure. A delight, listening to this mix. Somniac One's mix is really tight, and she shows us what she's capable of. And what she is capable of, is playing banging tunes! Old and new, all together. And it works well, extremely well. Loving the diversity of it all.

Normally I would fully dive into the mix, but this one is just spot on. Got no complaints, only love and appreciation for this mix. And also for including a dope ass track by Vainqueur, 'Lyot', remixed by Maurizio. Big track from the glorious 90s.

Really enjoyed this mix. And so should you!

DJ: Somniac One

Genre/Style: Techno, Industrial Hardcore

Mix Info: Artaphine Series 074

Length Mix: 01:14:43

Tracks: 31 (thirty-one)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): CLICK HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Release Year: 2021

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: unknown

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page