top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

DJ A.K. - UK Hardcore Classics Mix Vol 6 01.04.23

Sunday has arrived, and it's time to unwind. If you went out last night, you are still recovering. If you haven't, like me, you have just woken up, and all is well. No need for paracetamol, a glass of water, and a full cooked English breakfast to give you energy to get you through today. Well, I wouldn't say no to a full cooked breakfast. Something else I wouldn't say no to, is a mix dedicated to the golden years of UK Hardcore, the 2000nd. And you've guessed it: it's yet another mix by DJ A.K. He might not know it, but his mixes are reviewed on a regular basis. He's a contributor without knowing. And for that, we thank him.

I cannot count the amount of times his mixes were reviewed. His mixes are always interesting, and he plays a wide range of styles. Today's mix is all about the sound I adore: UK Hardcore from the millennium years. Around 2000 I became intoxicated with the sound, as it wasn't big in the Netherlands, and I discovered it by accident. And when I say not big, I meant non existent. When I did discover it, it was like a new world opened right in front of me. And at first, I was a bit taken back by it, but quickly did it capture me, and held me until the present day in its arms.

Whenever I spot a mix on Soundcloud that is focussed on those wonderful years, I have to jump on it, and listen to it. And sometimes I am that quick: the mix has only been uploaded a few hours prior to me discovering it. The same applies to DJ A.K.'s latest mix. Only uploaded yesterday, so I'm one of the first to discover it, and listen to it. And trust me when I say, you won't be disappointed. It's got the classics in here, by the biggest names in the scene.

You don't believe me? Check out the records A.K. has selected for his latest mix:

  1. Breeze & Styles - Future Set

  2. Scott Brown - Blue Room

  3. Darren Styles & Mark Breeze presents Infextious - Let Me Fly (Styles & Breeze Remix)

  4. Ripped 2 Fcuk Vol 2 - Side B (Better Off Alone)

  5. Contraption - Higher Forever (Breeze & Styles Remix)

  6. Scott Brown & Brisk - Chase

  7. DJ Mozzy & Speedy B - Drift

  8. Euphony & DJ Storm feat Danielle - Breathe

  9. UFO - Deep Inside (Remix)

  10. Angel One - Hold Me Tonight (DJ Pontos Remix)

  11. Scott Brown - Clash Of The Titans

  12. Adrima - Can't Stop Ravin'

  13. David Pamies & Cesar Benito - The New Spirit

  14. Ripped 2 Fcuk Vol 1 - Side A (4AM)

  15. Nu Foundation - Taking My Time

  16. Force & Styles - Follow Me (Styles & Breeze Remix)

  17. Scott Brown - I Became Hardcore

  18. Hixxy & Styles - The Theme

  19. Scott Brown - Rock You Softly 05

Amazing looking tracklist! Those are the forgotten classics, right? By the biggest names in the scene! Just look at the tracklist, and you'll know it's going to be yet another wicked set by A.K.

I thoroughly enjoyed this set. It's another slammer by A.K. Don't know how he keeps on finding these gems, but he seems to dig deep, and uncover them from a huge pile of dust. When I looked at the list an hour ago, I knew I was going to love this mix. It is filled with excellent tunes, and A.K. knows exactly what the listeners want to hear. This has been an hour and 20 minutes of throwback tracks, filled with a lot of memories.

This brings back a lot of memories for me. Discovering UK Hardcore is probably one of the best things in life for me. And the other fellow Dutchman (and woman) have missed out on an amazing style. It is so underrated.

There are so many classics in here, but I have to go with the opening record. 'Future Set' by Breeze and Styles. They were the golden duo during the golden years of UK Hardcore. Whatever they touched, turned into gold! There are plenty of other big records in here, but it's the opening track that did it for me.

Another slamming set, mr A.K. Keep those mixes coming!

DJ: A.K.

Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Happy Hardcore

Mix Info: DJ A.K. - UK Hardcore Classics Mix Vol 6 01.04.23

Length Mix: 01:20:15

Tracks: 19 (nineteen)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): STREAM HERE

File Size: unknown

File Type: unknown

Audio: Stereo

Bit Rate: unknown

Release Year: 2023

33 views0 comments


bottom of page