top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartin van Zeelandt / TCD

Scot Project Live @ Evolution 11, Mad Club, Lausanne, 2002

It is Wednesday, time for some Hard Trance. And this time it's a live set from Scot Project, taken from his set back in 2002 at Mad Club in Lausanne, Switzerland, at a party called Evolution 11. I've never been to Switzerland to go raving, even though it was close enough. Don't really know why I never been? If you have been, let me know in the comments how clubbing is in Switzerland. Would be interesting to find out if their clubbing culture is the same as everywhere else. It probably is, to be fair.

But let's talk about this live recording. Scot Project is a German producer and DJ, and well respected within the Hard Trance community. And as you can tell, he's still going strong. But let's go back to 2002, when flyers had to mention that two of the attractions were 'Video Animations' and 'Lasershow'. Now you just take this for granted. But back then it was something to put on the flyers, to attract more people. And by just listening to the liveset, it does seem that the club was packed to the max. And the people were loving it!

What's not to love? Hard Trance, early 2000s, and Scot Project? That's just a golden combination. And by looking at the tracklist you know you will be in for a treat. These are the classics. Well, we called them classics now, but not back then: they were the hottest anthems around. Obviously he had to play a lot of his own productions, but that doesn't spoil the fun. The man is a living legend.

The only downside is that this could be that this was aired on a radio station, and therefore you get the weird cuts and weird noises here and there. And obviously the bit rate is lower, but you can still enjoy this set a lot!

  1. Rank 1 - Awakening (Benicio Remix)

  2. Yoji Biomehanika - Theme From Banginglobe (DJ Scot Project Remix)

  3. Yoji Biomehanika - Ding A Ling (DJ Scot Project Remix)

  4. Arome - Hands Up (DJ Scot Project Remix)

  5. Twisters Silence - Listen To Me Mama (DJ Scot Project Remix)

  6. DJ Scot Project - S (Outer Space)

  7. DJ Scot Project - O (Overdrive)

  8. Space Frog - Follow Me (Derb Remix)

  9. Mauro Picotto - Iguana (Yoji Biomehanika Remix)

WOW! What a tracklist. Short and sweet, but very powerful. Impactful. This certainly takes me back to the wonderful days of Hard Trance. Thanks rave_on for uploading this set onto your Soundcloud channel.

Is this set a good one? Yes it is. The recording quality might be a tad low, but remember, this was recorded back in the 2000s, and things were different back then. But it is a live set, that's for sure. And during it, Scot does his best to get the crowd moving. And by the amount of screams and cheers, you can tell that he did a good job. Even when the set goes nuts....

Toward the end of the set, the record skips. Obviously a DJs worst nightmare, but also a good representation of a record: it has been played over and over again, and this means the track is good. And indeed, 'Follow Me' by Space Frog, remixed by Derb, is a good 'un.

It is nice to see tracks by Scot himself in a mix, and also tracks by Yoji Biomehanika. And this transition takes me to my favourite song of this mix: one version I haven't heard in years!! 'Ding A Ling' is amazing, 'S' and 'O' obviously wicked anthems, 'Hands Up' a true dancefloor smasher, but fuck me, 'Iguana' by Mauro Picotto, remixed by Yoji. My sweet baby Jesus, what a monster version. 'Iguana' itself is wicked, but this beast of a remix just ends this set well. It's just the perfect ending track. Could have been played in the middle though. Fuck me, this track is hard as nails!

A wicked liveset. Takes me back to the early 2000s, Sound quality isn't great, and the fade outs aren't either, but it's pure, it's raw, it's what it was back in 2002. I do remember sitting behind my cassette deck, recording everything onto tape, because I wanted everything on tape. Those were the days. Times do change, but not Scot Project: he still remains an all time legend!

DJ: Scot Project

Genre/Style: Hard Trance

Liveset Info: Recorded @ Evolution 11, Mad Club, Lausanne, 08.05.2002

Length Liveset: 00:51:43

Tracks: 9 (nine)

Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): DOWNLOAD/LISTEN

File Size: 84,7 MB

File Type: mp3

Release Year: 2002

Audio: Stereo

Sample Rate: 44,1 kHz

15 views0 comments


bottom of page